Namaste

 

Screen Shot 2020-03-16 at 7.08.43 PM
Namaste

 

 

I remember when my Parents used to greet their friends with a Namaste. They still do because that is the way they have been brought up. They join their hands and say “Namaste”. However, we grew up and ditched the Namaste and started saying “Hi” or more recently, “Hey” (just like the Americans). Although I could never bring myself to say a “Hey” as I just couldn’t leave my old habit of a British, “Hi”. My friends seemed to have caught on but I just couldn’t. I had that niggling, uncomfortable feeling every time I even thought of saying it.

 

What does Namaste mean? Amongst other meanings, it means, “I bow to you”.

 

Screen Shot 2020-03-16 at 7.01.08 PM

 

 

Screen Shot 2020-03-16 at 12.44.25 PM

 

Quite a modest way of greeting someone and with so much depth behind its meaning. I wonder why we didn’t continue with this humble way of greeting others. Just like everything else in life, we moved on. We left “Namaste” behind to keep up with The World and “fit in” perhaps.

 

“Namaste” sort of just faded away… it was only meant for greeting someone older than us or for official use at work, from time to time. Some even felt embarrassed using it at work to greet colleagues when asked to follow the protocol. Such a pity… Just shows how ashamed some of us are of our Indian culture.

 

In the wake of the Coronavirus, people have gone back to basics! Everyone is doing the Namaste. Not just in India but dignitaries like Prince Charles, Donald Trump, and Priyanka Chopra (see below). They may be doing it for hygiene reasons but they are graciously joining their hands and bending down a little.

 

https://youtu.be/yvEdK8kfjyk

https://youtu.be/vzxsC9O91PU

 

There are, of course, deeper reasons as to why we should do Namaste. Thease are related to Yoga and the benefits of Namaste to our mind and body.

Screen Shot 2020-03-16 at 7.09.43 PM

 

Namaste may trend back again! The Indians may be proud once more to be using it when they meet each other.

I say, be proud of yourself, feel grand of your heritage, start the Namaste; start the trend. People will love you for it and you will love the gratifying feeling of taking your culture forward.

 

 

Author: uktobharat

I came to live in India ten years ago. Although I was born in India, I was brought up in the UK. Nobody I know has ever moved back to this country after leaving it to settle abroad but my circumstances were different. I found it challenging and hard on a day to day basis. Yet, looking back, this country gave me respect and through the hard times I have learnt a lot. Some days are tedious, some are fabulous and on some days I just want to go back "home". This is my life..........

Leave a comment